The blizzard(s) of the century

Make that this winter’s second blizzard of the century. It is affectionately (or not) being called Snowmageddon or Snowpocolips. This southern girl is over it. I just call it overkill.

  • 18 = inches of snow in December’s storm of the century
  • 26 = inches of snow in January’s storm of the century
  • 2 = inches per hour of snowfall
  • 48 = hours before we can expect the city to start plowing our roads (That’s the official number. I have seen a plow come through here)
  • 12+= hours without power (we do have power now)
  • 59 = degrees it got down to in our house
  • 76 = the temp I have it set at now to rewarm the house and for just in case
  • 20 = the minutes after I set our refrigerated food out in the snow that our power came back on (thanks Murphy’s Law)
  • 250,000 = the estimated number of people without power
  • 3+= books I’ve read so far*
  • 7 = the number of candles we broke out to eat dinner by
  • 2 = the number of cats who didn’t quite understand why we were eating dinner by candlelight
  • 1 = kid who was upset that the electricity came back on because she wanted to play with flashlights in the dark

*My goal coming into this weekend that I knew we’d be snowbound has been to read and sew. Without power it has been impossible to create beautiful couture wear, therefore I have been reading. Nonstop. Here is what I’ve read:

  1. Shopaholic & Baby by Sophie Kinsella
  2. Clash of Civilizations Over an Elevator in Piazza Vittorio by Amara Lakhous (translated to English from Italian)
  3. Girl With A Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier

I am now reading Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri. This one is a Pulitzer Prize winner. I have yet to read Blonde Roots by Bernardine Evaristo. Thanks to Ronnica for that last book!

Published by NotSoSAHM

I'm a photographer and homeschooler Dream = travel blogger. We move around every couple of years. That's fine, I love seeing different parts of our great country and the world. Great things: Jesus, traveling, photography, eating, sewing, scrapbooking, reading, shopping...not necessarily in that order.

17 thoughts on “The blizzard(s) of the century

    1. And apparently there’s more coming Tuesday or Wednesday! My MIL is scheduled to fly in on Thursday. Hope it’s all cleared up by then. Not sure I should hold my breath.

  1. Wow. That’s a lot of snow! A good friend of ours lives in Maryland and he was telling us that they had 2 feet this morning. Crazy! Glad to hear that your power is finally back on!

    I adore Sophie Kinsella’s books….. I have all of them and they crack me up each time I read them. šŸ™‚

  2. Um yeah. Avery would LOVE a good power outage. Until we ran out of flashlight batteries, of course.
    P.S. I have always said I was going to read Girl With A Pearl Earring. It has not happened yet. (Sadface)

  3. it is crazy that our blizzards are at the same time…every one of them…lol. We are getting dumped on and still getting dumped on… it is predicted now for all week, we will see… glad you got your power back on!

    1. hahahaha! Our previous cat burned his tail on a candle. It STUNK! We rarely burn candles so they’re not exposed to them. This time there were seven together and they sensed the danger šŸ™‚

    1. You’re right, it is an interesting concept. I’m getting ready to start it tonight. I looked for the other books but they either weren’t at my local branch or were checked out. I’ve enjoyed getting back into the books!

      Vicki on the phone

  4. If I could politely inquire…how the heck did you read so much with two kids? I felt like mine have been climbing the walls, racing around chasing each other, and talking at top volume for at least a week now. We didn’t get nearly as much snow as you did this weekend, but it was enough combined with last weekend to make any sort of outdoor activity unpalatable.

    1. I don’t know how it happened. There were several factors that played a part. Du was home. The girls have miraculously been playing very well together lately and they aren’t as needy as they used to be. They have friends two doors down and spent some time over there. Ash still takes 3 hour mid-day naps. I tried to read really fast. I think it was the less neediness that really did the trick. It’ll all end after this weekend as I’m going to want to be back on the computer, I’ll need to be teaching school and life will take over again. I have enjoyed it though!

  5. I have been thinking of DC folks like you guys every time I see the news. Man. What an experience. And you could bring the snow to the bathtub to refrigerate your goods rather than leave them outside… but I guess outside works, too. Keep reading… I am kind of jealous of that part of your experience.

  6. Did you like Girl with a Pearl Earring? I read it and watched the movie in one of my art history classes – I remember it being really good but it’s been a long time, you might want to preview it šŸ™‚

Leave a comment